

# International Commission against the Death Penalty

President Federico Mayor

Members Giuliano Amato

Louise Arbour

Robert Badinter

Mohammed Bedjaoui

**Ruth Dreifuss** 

Michèle Duvivier Pierre-Louis

Hanne Sophie Greve

Asma Jilani Jahangir

Ioanna Kuçuradi

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo

Rodolfo Mattarollo

Ibrahim Najjar

Bill Richardson

### Honorary Member José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero

### Secretariat

Rue Rothschild 20, TL 004 CH-1202 Geneva Switzerland Tel: +41 22 908 44 22 Fax: +41 22 908 62 62 asunta.vivo@icomdp.org info@icomdp.org

www.icomdp.org

Statement by the International Commission against the Death Penalty: 5th World Congress against the Death Penalty - Madrid, 12-15 June 2013

The International Commission against the Death Penalty (ICDP) is sending a delegation to 5th World Congress against the Death Penalty. The delegation is led by its President Federico Mayor who will be joined by Commissioners Robert Badinter, Hanne Sophie Greve and Rodolfo Mattarollo.

More than 1,500 people from over 90 countries are expected to attend the Madrid Congress. Among then will be prominent political and cultural persons with a high profile in the abolitionist movement. The Congress is hosted by the Government of Spain and supported by the Governments of France, Norway and Switzerland. For further information click here <a href="http://congres.abolition.fr/">http://congres.abolition.fr/</a> for full program.

During the three days non-governmental organizations, politicians, lawyers and academics will review death penalty developments and discuss abolitionist strategies at the national, regional and international levels with a specific focus on the regions of Africa and the Middle East.

ICDP will contribute to the discussions and meet with delegates for an exchange of views to further abolition of the death penalty worldwide.

Federico Mayor

President of the International Commission against the Death Penalty



## International Commission against the Death Penalty

President Federico Mayor

Members Giuliano Amato

Louise Arbour

Robert Badinter

Mohammed Bedjaoui

**Ruth Dreifuss** 

Michèle Duvivier Pierre-Louis

Hanne Sophie Greve

Asma Jilani Jahangir

Ioanna Kuçuradi

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo

Rodolfo Mattarollo

Ibrahim Najjar

Bill Richardson

#### Honorary Member José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero

### Secretariat

Rue Rothschild 20, TL 004 CH-1202 Geneva Switzerland Tel: +41 22 908 44 22 Fax: +41 22 908 62 62 asunta.vivo@icomdp.org info@icomdp.org

www.icomdp.org

### **BACKGROUND**

ICDP was founded in Madrid in October 2010. ICDP is composed of 15 personalities of high international standing from all regions of the world who act with total independence and neutrality and work under its President Mr. Federico Mayor.

ICDP opposes the death penalty under any circumstances believing that it violates the right to life enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. ICDP promotes the abolition of capital punishment in law in those states that observe a de facto moratorium on the use of the death penalty and promotes moratoriums on executions in states that rarely use the death penalty. In states that continue to carry out executions ICDP urges strict adherence to international standards.

ICDP works with the United Nations and other international and regional organizations, governments and nongovernmental organizations to further the abolition of capital punishment worldwide.

The work of the ICDP is supported by a diverse group of 16 states from all regions of the world that are committed to abolition of the death penalty. Its secretariat is based in Geneva.